SNIA Announces its 2018 SNIA Board of Directors and Technical Council Members

For Release: 
Micron Technology and Toshiba newly elected to the Board; Huawei joins the Technical Council

COLORADO SPRINGS, Co.  – November 15, 2017 – The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) announces it 2018 Board of Directors and Technical Council.  As a globally recognized and trusted authority, SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry in developing and promoting vendor-neutral architectures, standards and educational services that facilitate the efficient management, movement and security of information.  "At this time of profound change in the storage industry, SNIA is focused on the hottest data storage trends, delivering standards, technology enablement, and educational materials that help IT to derive the maximum benefit from the new infrastructures and technologies,” said David Dale, SNIA Chairman.  

“We are excited to see the major solid state vendors and innovators joining the SNIA Board,” said Michael Oros, SNIA Executive Director. “With Micron Technology and Toshiba representatives elected and Samsung Group appointment to the Board earlier in 2017, we have key industry leaders working together on the next set of challenges in solid state storage and persistent memory."

The SNIA Board is key to leading the execution of the SNIA mission and vision.  Intel, Micron Technology, NetApp, Oracle and Toshiba representatives were elected to the SNIA Board this year, and IBM, Intel, Microsoft Corporation and Samsung Group representatives were elected to the SNIA Technical Council.

Meet the new 2017/2018 SNIA Board of Directors:

  • David Dale, NetApp – Chairman
  • Jim Pappas, Intel – Vice-Chairman
  • Thomas Rivera – Secretary, Advisor
  • Allan Zmyslowski, Fujitsu – Treasurer
  • Wayne Adams – Chairman Emeritus, Advisor
  • Michael Oros – SNIA Executive Director, Advisor
  • Sue Amarin, Micron Technology
  • J Metz, Cisco Systems
  • Rupin Mohan, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Rob Peglar, Symbolic IO Corporation
  • Hubbert Smith, Samsung Group
  • Tatsuya Tanaka, Toshiba
  • Michelle Tidwell, IBM
  • Jim Williams, Oracle
  • Mark Carlson, Toshiba – Technical Council Co-Chairman, Advisor
  • Bill Martin, Samsung Group – Technical Council Co-Chairman, Advisor
  • SW Worth, Advisor

The 2017/2018 Technical Council consists of:

  • Mark Carlson, Toshiba – Co-Chairman
  • Bill Martin, Samsung Group – Co-Chairman
  • Alan Bumgarner, Intel
  • Craig Carlson, Cavium
  • Fred Knight, NetApp
  • Philip Kufeldt, Huawei
  • Peter Murray, Virtual Instruments
  • David Pease, IBM
  • Tom Talpey, Microsoft Corporation
  • Doug Voigt, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Arnold Jones, SNIA – TC Advisor
  • Alex McDonald, NetApp – TC Advisor
  • Gregory McSorley, Amphenol – TC Advisor
  • Leah Schoeb, Turbonomic – TC Advisor
  • David Thiel – TC Advisor
  • Steve Wilson – TC Advisor

About SNIA

The Storage Networking Industry Association is a not-for-profit global organization, made up of member companies spanning the global storage market. SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry worldwide in developing and promoting standards, technologies, and educational services to empower organizations in the management of information. To this end, the SNIA is uniquely committed to delivering standards, education, and services that will propel open storage networking solutions into the broader market. For more information about SNIA, visit