SNIA Announces 2018-19 Board of Directors and Technical Council Members

For Release: 
Broadcom newly elected to Board and Technical Council; Advanced Computation and Storage LLC and Dell EMC join Board; Marvell Technology Group, Micron Technology, Pure Storage and Rubrik join Technical Council

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO., October 30, 2018 - The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) announces its 2018-19 Board of Directors and Technical Council (TC).  As a globally recognized and trusted authority, SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry in developing and promoting vendor-neutral architectures, standards and educational services that facilitate the efficient management, movement and security of information.  

"The storage industry continues to experience transformational dynamics,” said David Dale, SNIA Chairman. “SNIA’s contribution is to deliver, as part of its portfolio, important advances in persistent memory, solid state storage form-factor standards, next-generation storage management, and vendor-neutral education.”

“We are excited to see the major system vendors and connectivity innovators joining the SNIA Board,” said Michael Oros, SNIA Executive Director. “With Dell EMC rejoining, Supermicro’s earlier appointment, and Broadcom representatives elected to the Board/TC, we have key industry leaders working together in a broad range of focus areas, including new initiatives in computational storage, energy efficiency, storage in cloud environments, and data security."

The SNIA Board directs the execution of SNIA’s mission and vision. Advanced Computation and Storage LLC, Broadcom, Cisco Systems, Fujitsu America and Hewlett Packard Enterprise representatives were elected to the SNIA Board this year. Broadcom, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, NetApp and Toshiba Memory representatives were elected to the SNIA Technical Council.

Meet the 2018-19 SNIA Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

  • David Dale, NetApp – Chairman
  • Jim Pappas, Intel Corporation – Vice Chairman
  • Jim Williams, Oracle Corporation – Secretary
  • Allan Zmyslowski, Fujitsu America – Treasurer
  • Wayne Adams – Chairman Emeritus, Advisor
  • Michael Oros – SNIA Executive Director

Board Members:

  • Richelle Ahlvers, Broadcom
  • Sue Amarin, Micron Technology
  • P.K. Gupta, Dell EMC
  • Tau Leng, Supermicro
  • Chris Lionetti, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • J Metz, Cisco Systems
  • Rob Peglar, Advanced Computation and Storage LLC
  • Tatsuya Tanaka, Toshiba Memory
  • Michelle Tidwell, IBM

Board Advisors:

  • Mark Carlson, Toshiba Memory – Technical Council Co-Chairman
  • Bill Martin, Samsung – Technical Council Co-Chairman
  • SW Worth, Industry Consultant

Meet the 2018-19 Technical Council

  • Mark Carlson, Toshiba Memory – Co-Chairman
  • Bill Martin, Samsung – Co-Chairman
  • Curtis Ballard, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Alan Bumgarner, Intel Corporation
  • Fred Knight, NetApp
  • Peter Murray, Micron Technology
  • David Pease, IBM
  • Tom Talpey, Microsoft Corporation
  • Steve Wilson, Broadcom

Technical Council Advisors:

  • Barkz Barker, Pure Storage
  • Craig Carlson, Marvell Technology Group
  • Arnold Jones, SNIA
  • Alex McDonald, NetApp
  • Gregory McSorley, Amphenol
  • Leah Schoeb, Rubrik
  • David Thiel, Industry Consultant

About SNIA

The Storage Networking Industry Association is a not-for-profit global organization, made up of member companies spanning the global storage market. SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry worldwide in developing and promoting standards, technologies, and educational services to empower organizations in the management of information. To this end, SNIA is uniquely committed to delivering standards, education, and services that will propel open storage networking solutions into the broader market. For more information about SNIA, visit

David Okubo
Ogilvy Public Relations
Phone: 213.248.9126